Congresswoman Barbara Lee (D-Oakland) was officially named as the First Vice Chair of the Congressional Black Caucus (CBC) at a press conference today on Capitol Hill to announce the organization’s leadership for the upcoming Congress.

Lee, who served as CBC Whip in the 109th Congress, praised the leadership of outgoing Chair, Congressman Mel Watt (D-NC) and looked forward to a strengthened role of the CBC in the coming Democratically-controlled Congress.  CBC members will chair the Judiciary, Homeland Security, Administration, and Ways and Means Committees.

"I want to thank Chairman Watt for his leadership, and I congratulate our new Chair, Congresswoman Kilpatrick and our new officers.  I look forward to working with them and all of our CBC colleagues to implement a bold agenda for the 110th Congress," said Lee.

U.S. Representatives Carolyn Kilpatrick (D-MI) will serve as the CBC Chair, as Emmanuel Cleaver II (D-MO) as Second Vice Chair, Sheila Jackson-Lee (D-TX) as Whip, and Danny Davis (D-IL) as Secretary.