Honorary ladybug of West London’s Bugz In The Attic crew, Los Angeles-based vocalist Joy Jones released her debut solo album, ‘Godchild,’ July 7. After a temporary relocation to London, Joy struck a special relationship with BITA producer Daz-I-Kue. She reflects, “Daz believed in me, and encouraged me to really cultivate my craft and create a full project.” Now for the Future Soul Records label, Joy Jones is presenting fans with a thought-provoking album of Afro-beat lullabies, future jazz/soul, protest songs and electronic hymn.

Joy’s exposure to an array of different styles from gospel, soca, classical, African choral music, soul and jazz are readily apparent in each song on ‘Godchild.’ Upbeat single “The Joy” features an amalgam of summery synths and afro rhythms, while the dreamy “Hollywood” and “Supernova,” with its off-kilter beat, incorporate slightly more cosmic stylings. These sounds, along with inspirational places and events, all prompted Joy Jones to put her heart and soul into music. Be prepared to have your ears and mind opened to new experiences!


Joy Jones
Released: Jul 7, 2009
Released By Future Soul Records

vinyl-128x128Track Listing

  • Joyride
  • This Too
  • The Joy (Remix produced by Daz-I-Kue)
  • Hollywood
  • Supernova
  • Nomad
  • Constellations
  • Over
  • Glass Boxes
  • Right Now
  • Promised Land
  • Beautiful
  • Be My Husband
  • Go Down Moses


VIDEO – The Joy (Original Mix)